Joey Lawerence

Joey Lawrence is a Canadian photographer who is well known for his striking images of a variety of people that captures their true forms. I was very intrigued by the way that he took the pictures of these people that are usually living on the border of society. They were different in the way that they were shot (different from the stereotypical shots we see) but also by the way they have been edited. There is something about them that really makes them stand out to the eye and really draws in your attention.

Screen Shot 2015-03-04 at 14.56.04

Joeys explained that “for photographs from the streets, such as the homeless series, I know all those guys and all their stories. The pictures come when there is more of a connection. I don’t think the pictures would turn out any good unless I was interested in their life”. (Onesmallseed.net) This is very important to consider, as it shows that you begin to truly know your subject when you get to speak to them and hold a connection with them. And it is from that in which you begin to shoot the subjects in a proper manner, in a way with respect and dignity, which is always appreciated.

Screen Shot 2015-03-04 at 14.56.32

Lawrence himself says that he has to be careful with the way that he edits the pictures afterwards, as there is a fine balance between making them looking unrealistic. A lot of inspiration for him comes from the lighting in cinematography in order to bring out the subject more. I think this is an interesting method for me to consider for my own work, as when it comes to shooting the subjects, I need to make sure each object has the appropriate lighting to bring out the most detail within it.

Personally, I won’t be really taking any portraits for my images (unless needed) but if I do, I don’t think it would be suitable for my work to do them in this style even though I love these portraits, as they are different. However, I definitely will be taking notes for when it comes to shooting my objects.

Onesmallseed.net,. ‘THE INSIGHTS OF JOEY LAWRENCE’. N.p., 2009. Web. 4 Mar. 2015.

Leave a Reply

