Pre-Test Shoot

As stated in my last post, I needed to go out and do a test shoot for my images to put into practice everything that I have learnt so far. The reasoning behind this would be so that I could practice the set up fully, but also be able to change anything that might not be to my liking exactly.

1

5

In the first two images here, we can see that I have managed to crop them down to a reasonable size, whilst giving the watches enough space so that they aren’t cramped into the picture. This gives it a much more aesthetic feel to the whole image as we don’t worry about one side being bigger then the other; rather we just focus on the watch. This too applies to the background choice; the blackness actually helps bring out the detail from the marks as they are illuminated from the light, pointing our focus directly at them.

However, one problem I noted with these images, with focus on the first one, is that I have to make sure that the main areas are in focus. For the first image, the main focus was the dents in the bottom lover half of the case; however after careful inspection it is obvious that they aren’t quite in focus. So what I need to do when setting up the scene is use the live view option and zoom into the focus area, and using the manual focus option, get it as crisp as possible. To help out as well, I will make sure that the aperture on the camera is as large as possible to make sure the depth of field covers the whole watch as well.

Apart from the slight niggle, I am very happy with the way the images are looking. The way that they aren’t too zoomed in means that the viewer has to get up close and examine it, showing how time has affected the watch via these marks, and hopefully ill bring back their own past memories.

3

The problem that I have with this watch is that it doesn’t fit into the uniformity of the whole body of work. As a singular image, it works well at highlighting the marks on the strap; however not only does it not fit into Coventry’s history of watches, it would be completely out of place compared to the pocket watches I would photograph. A typology is supposed to be repetitive, and having a wrist watch like this would completely break up the sequence which is not what I want.
The viewer would just put the focus onto that image and ignore the others, when really I want them to compare how each watch has its own history behind them, with time taking its own unique toll on the watches themselves in a variety of ways. I want the viewer to compare each marking, and for them to interact it with their own memories.

So I need to make sure that I have a solid consistency going on throughout the sequence. However what I think will be interesting is to show how it isn’t just the body of the watch that is affected, but also the face. The mystery of the case itself would be a nice touch as we have to think for ourselves what the object is, but it would be nice to give the whole sequence some context as well.

Leave a Reply

