152: Human Presence – Graveyards – My digital pictures

So for this human presence task, I decided that I was gonna go on an adventure and travel to a graveyard to do some exploring. So I decided to do some research beforehand so that I knew where exactly I was going, what the history of the place was like and if there was anything of interest there at all for me to have a look at (for example any churches, specific ground etc.)
So the place i settled on was London Road Cemetery, which was just 5 minutes away from the university. And after doing a bit of research, I discovered that there was an old conformist church located in the middle of the grounds which was protected by the laws. So as well as looking at all the graves, I was hoping that I would be able to get inside the building as well.

On arrival, I was surprised at actually how big this graveyard was; I had looked on Google maps and it didn’t appear to be that big. But being there in person put it all into perspective. But what made it worse was the fact that it was so…empty. And it was completely empty, as I was the only one walking around there during the day, and I didn’t see anyone else at a grave on my walk.
IMG_2623
Thankfully, this church building I wanted to look at was located near the entrance, so I decided that I would pay this a visit first before I continued on my way. However when I got there, I was upset that every single entrance had been barricaded by steel. And b every entrance I mean there was no way to get inside at all. I looked all over, and did a full circle but i was left with nothing which was disappointing. But it wasn’t the end of the world as it would of just been an added benefit to my visit really.

So carrying on my walk, i got my camera out and began to look at all the graves that were surrounding me. But I wasn’t just going to take a picture here or there. Rather, I was looking out for more of the older graves that were beginning to fade away due to time, or even some of the graves that had been broken down and left broken on the ground. As for my pictures I wanted to show that these graves (some of whom belong to soldiers that died during the war) have been ignored and left to rot away. As the families that used to once care for them have now gone, and these graves are now forgotten about. As to me, it shows a lack of respect really to those that have died, as if we don’t care about their memories anymore. IMG_2542 IMG_2544 IMG_2552 IMG_2558 IMG_2594 IMG_2520 IMG_2615 IMG_2526

These were just some of the many pictures I took on the day, as each picture shows a different way of how the graves are being disrespected and forgotten about. It really is a shame and makes you emotional, as for me it made me think would this be the same for me in the future one day; my grave being left to rot and forgotten all alone?
As for the majority of these graves, they were located far and away from the paths, hidden in the growth, behind the trees. You would actually have to walk there to see them, as you would just pass by; where the majority of graves by the path were looked after well, with the odd exception here and there.

Now, its time for me to go through each image to perform a tight edit now to get the right images before i go ahead with the processes that I want to use for my final prints.

Leave a Reply

