Assignment 1 Artist Research: Absis Minas

Absis Minas is a photographer I saw that grabbed my attention with the very different picture style. As an American artist, he focuses more on aesthetics within his pictures, to create some very interesting pieces. The pictures that took my attention the most were based on the idea that started off with the idea of places in which the narrative was related to people, before the pictures narrowly began to focus on the lack of people in the area.

Screen Shot 2014-03-03 at 12.31.35

Screen Shot 2014-03-03 at 12.31.16

In these pictures, I have paid more focus especially towards the pictures which have a lack of people in the area. I thought these pictures were rather eerie when I was looking at them. All of these places you would expect to see some sort of human presence in the area. Yet with nothing there at all, you begin to wonder if these areas have been completely abandoned at all.
What also helps with these colours is that the lighting is rather gloomy; I think that makes the picture work better because if it was light and bubbly, you wouldn’t get the same effect. Having the slight grey tinge around the picture makes it seem as if it was from a ghost town.

Screen Shot 2014-03-03 at 12.32.01

I think preferably for my own pictures, I think having a darker tone would suit my pictures, yet then it could be seen as if the pictures were indeed abandoned. Rather then, I would want to make sure that there is enough background light to make sure it’s not all gloom and doom, yet to make sure the light on the stalls would be a bit darker to give a bit more contrast.
Also I think having a lack of human presence would be the right touch as well; having too many people in the frame would be too distracting. Having a few people in wouldn’t be too bad, but preferably I would prefer to make sure the scene would be empty.

http://thenewinquiry.com/author/absis-minas/

Absis Minas

Leave a Reply

