What is a photograph? – 150 MC

So in this lecture, started to discuss in general what some of the main characteristics of a photograph are, which was quite useful to have a general idea of what my pictures could contain when I present them. In the end, we came up with a list that consisted of:

  • Colour or monochrome
  • Portrait or Landscape
  • Emotional response from the picture
  • Still or moving
  • An artefact
  • A truth
  • Fixed in time
  • 2D or 3D
  • Serves a purpose
  • We do not fully comprehend the context

I think aspect which I found the most interesting was the 2D or 3D aspect of a picture, and how important depth of field is. As that’s the way we can tell if a picture becomes 3D or not, depending on how much depth of field there is.
And I think what also helps this aspect is how we photograph something, and if the subjects in the pictures just fully stay in the frame, or there is lines that are going past the boundary so we don’t have an idea of when they end at all. And that’s an interesting idea that I have begun to place to place in my last pictures as it grants that more abstract idea.

We then talked about denotation and connotation, and again I felt that connotation (An association (emotional or otherwise) which the work evokes (or image)) was much more useful for my project in the end, as I want to try to make the viewer have a sort of connotation with the final picture in the end.
But we also talked about the studium and punctum (that which interests us. it may draw our gaze, we may find it visually interesting, intellectually interesting etc and that which grabs us, it breaks the studium). These two things are very important I feel when it comes to taking a picture, so for my assignment 1 I should strive to achieve both of these things to make sure my pictures are visually appealing.

I feel that this lecture was very useful in understanding the deeper meaning behind the photographs, and making me think more about my pictures indeed.

Leave a Reply

